I’m starting this blog as a way to track my experiments in canning and preserving.  When my husband’s grandmother passed away I received her water bath canner.  At the time I didn’t know what it was and thought it was just a really gigantic soup pot but probably one that I would never use.  It was while I was reading a blog post from a friend of mine about making apple butter that a light bulb went off in my head sending me down to the far corner of my basement to retrieve the canner.
Now a few years and a couple of batches of apple butter down the road, I am beginning to take the time to learn how to can in earnest.  I’ve been trolling Pinterest for recipes, reading all kinds of blogs, and buying cookbooks on the topic. It was probably unnecessary to buy the cookbooks – everything I could need is online, but truth be told I have an addiction.
So come along with me on this little culinary adventure. I promise to post the failures as well as the successes, and I’m sure there will be plenty of failures. Who knows? There may even be a jar of something yummy in it for you…but only if you promise to return the jar!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

